h1

Can I Reach Your Heart

September 8, 2008
I dedicate this poem to my mother, Irma Lopez. Thanks for being proud!

 

 

Feel the tears I’m shedding.
See the miles apart.
All that you are feeling,
Can it reach my heart?

Love was what you wanted.
Pain was what you got.
I learned first hand through living,
What was never taught.

You used to haunt my dreams.
Could you hear how loud I cried?
You never thought you’d take me,
The day I saw you die.

He’s up at night calling,
The whispers of your name,
And lifts his arms reaching,
For what I know is in vain.

Mom, you left me here angry.
As if anger was an art.
I just want to say, ‘I’m sorry.’
Can I reach your heart?

– Tabitha Castillo

 

Leave a Reply

